领导力

女孩们在影响自己生活的决策中往往没有发言权。 女孩有权参与社区活动、维护自己的权利,为其他女孩树立榜样。

研究表明,从女孩进入青春期初期开始,她们就面临各种限制和局限,这使她们处于不利地位,特别是贫困家庭中被边缘化的女孩。 数据显示,在某些情况下,80-90% 的青少年项目参与者都是男孩。

在发展中国家,女孩面临的挑战因贫穷而放大。 许多女孩无法了解她们的权利以及如何改变世界,她们只能保持沉默,在影响她们生活的重大决策中也没有发言权。 许多女孩无法上学、结交朋友和学习生活技能,她们只能花时间做饭、打扫卫生和照顾年幼的兄弟姐妹。 当女孩有机会发表自己的意见时,她们可以为自己的家人、社区和世界人民的生活带来积极的影响。

数据解读

  • 与同龄的男孩相比,女孩每天在家和在无报酬市场工作的时间多出 33-85%。 这一状况妨碍了女孩培养技能,因此她们无法自给自足,也无法为家庭提供经济支持。 缺乏这些技能,女孩就无法站出来维护自己的权利以及其他祖国人民的权利。
  • 统计数据显示,女性将其收入的 90% 回馈给家庭和社区,而男性的这一数据仅为 30-40%。

Girl Up 与联合国

Girl Up 与联合国合作,通过向青春期女孩领袖提供必要的经济和社会技能、导师支持以及参与社区生活所需的资源,促进她们的发展。 Girl Up 支持联合国项目,使女孩能够以自己的名义发表言论,让女孩参与决策,并与其他女孩、家庭及社区合作探索影响女孩生活的问题。 Girl Up 支持为女孩提供安全的会面、交谈、玩耍和学习空间的项目。 为女孩提供领导技能并将她们纳入决策过程,这是激发经济和社会变革的主要方式之一。

危地马拉

Girl Up 正在与联合国和危地马拉的当地合作伙伴合作,扩大经证实有效的项目,这些项目主要专注于通过增强农村女孩的自信心和为她们提供领导机会,提高她们的权能。 这些项目让青春期女孩了解她们的权利,为她们提供教育,鼓励她们就影响其生活的问题发表意见。 Girl Up 合作伙伴致力于通过培养原住民妇女和年龄较大的青春期女孩,使她们成为参与此项目的年轻女孩的导师,从而促进女性领袖的发展。 社区的实习和金融扫盲班可以让年龄较大的青春期女孩获得亲身实践的工作经验。

马拉维

Girl Up 支持联合国在马拉维的工作,通过成立青年社团来提高青春期女孩的领导能力和宣传能力。 其他项目包括为青春期女孩创收的活动,生计和职业技能培训以及指导机会。 社团为女孩提供会面、学习和玩耍的场所。 模拟议会等活动有助于女孩了解她们的政府和公民参与,以及抵制童婚等行为的法律如何帮助保护她们的权利。 职业教育为年龄较大的青春期女孩提供机会学习裁缝、木工和美容等技能,这些女孩被迫辍学,因此就业机会很小。 当女孩从这个课程毕业时,她们会获得各自的用品工具包,比如立志成为裁缝的女孩将获得缝纫机和剪刀。

埃塞俄比亚

在埃塞俄比亚的难民营,Girl Up 正在为联合国的一个项目提供支持,该项目为女孩提供各种机会参与并成为领袖。 女生学术社团和学业成就奖等项目为难民女孩提供了一个在课堂上成为领袖的机会。 Girl Up 支持联合国在难民营修建康乐设施的工作,为女孩提供运动装备和制服,让她们在运动场上展现飒爽英姿。 该项目还为女孩提供助学金,资助她们上职业学校或大学。

利比里亚

Girl Up 支持联合国通过开展女孩论坛来促进利比里亚女孩领袖的工作,女孩论坛为年龄较大的青春期女孩提供和平建设与领导力培训。 之后,她们可以将这些技能传授给各自社区的青春期女孩。 此项目还为青春期女孩提供生活技能培训和实习机会。 利比里亚拥有一位最优秀的女孩领袖模范 — 利比里亚的总统。 2005 年,埃伦·约翰逊·瑟利夫当选为利比里亚总统,使她成为非洲第一位女性国家元首。 2011 年,埃伦·约翰逊·瑟利夫与利比里亚同僚莱伊曼·古博薇共同获得诺贝尔和平奖,她们动员和组织妇女结束内战,确保妇女能够参加选举。

印度

印度的青春期女孩与世界其他许多地方的女孩一样,在社会中处于弱势地位。  男孩往往比女孩更受重视,因为他们继承了家族姓氏,能够帮忙劳动,这在印度的农村地区十分普遍。   因此,男孩往往可以上学并在社会上拥有更大的发言权,而女孩通常早早地步入婚姻,留在家中做家务。

拉贾斯坦邦是印度人口最多的一个邦,该邦的青春期女孩面临许多挑战。 在该地区,Girl Up 为联合国人口基金 (UNFPA) 的“青春期女孩行动”倡议提供支持。 该项目通过提供工作技能培训和适龄就业机会,帮助女孩发展领导技能。

Leadership

Girls don’t always have a say in decisions that affect their lives. Girls deserve to participate in their communities, advocate for their rights, and be role models for other girls.

Research shows that from the moment girls enter their early teenage years, they face restrictions and limitations that place them at a disadvantage – particularly for marginalized girls from poor families. Data shows that in some cases, 80-90% of youth program participants are boys.

In developing countries, the challenges that girls face are magnified by poverty. Rather than learning about their rights and how they can make a difference in the world, many girls’ voices are silenced and they have no say in major decisions that impact their lives. Instead of going to school, making friends, and gaining life-skills, many girls spend their time cooking, cleaning, and caring for younger siblings. When girls are given the chance to have their voices heard, they can make a positive impact on the lives of their family, their community and the world.

By the Numbers

  • Girls spend 33–85% more time per day working at home and in unpaid markets compared to boys who are the same age. This situation prevents girls from developing skills that will enable them to be self-sufficient and provide economic support to their families. Without these skills, girls are unable to stand up for their rights and the rights of others within their own country.
  • Statistics show that women and girls reinvest 90% of their income back into their families and communities, compared to only 30-40% for men and boys.

Girl Up and the United Nations

Girl Up works with the United Nations to promote adolescent girl leaders by providing them with essential economic and social skills, support from mentors and with the resources they need to participate in community life. Girl Up supports UN programs that empower girls to speak out on their own behalf, engage girls in decision-making, and work with girls, families and their community to explore issues that impact girls’ lives. Girl Up supports programs that provide girls with a safe space to meet, talk, play and learn. Providing girls with leadership skills and including them in decision-making is one of the major tools to spark economic and social change.

Guatemala

Girl Up is working with UN and local partners in Guatemala to expand proven, impactful programs that include a focus on empowering rural, indigenous girls by promoting their self-confidence and providing them with leadership opportunities. These programs teach adolescent girls about their rights, provide them with education, and encourage them to speak out on issues impacting their lives. Girl Up partners are working to promote female leaders by training indigenous women, and older adolescent girls, to become mentors for younger girls participating in the program. Internships and financial literacy classes in their communities enable older adolescent girls to gain hands-on job experience.

Malawi

Girl Up supports the UN’s work in Malawi to promote adolescent girls’ leadership and advocacy skills through girl-only youth clubs. Other programs include income-generating activities for adolescent girls, livelihood and vocational skills training and mentorship opportunities. Clubs provide girls with a place to meet, learn and play. Activities like mock-parliament help teach girls about their government and civic engagement, and how laws against practices like child marriage can help protect their rights. Vocational education provides older teen girls who have had to drop out of school – and therefore have little chance for employment – the opportunity to learn skills such as tailoring, carpentry and cosmetology. When girls graduate from this program they are provided with their own toolkit of supplies– such as a sewing machine and scissors for aspiring tailors.

Ethiopia

In refugee camps in Ethiopia, Girl Up is supporting a UN program that provides girls with a variety of opportunities to get engaged and become leaders. Programs such as girls’ academic clubs and school achievement awards give refugee girls a chance to be leaders in the classroom. Girl Up is supporting the UN’s work to create recreational facilities in refugee camps and provide girls with sports equipment and uniforms so that they can become leaders on the field. The program also awards scholarships for girls to go on to vocational school or to college.

Liberia

Girl Up supports the UN’s work to promote girl leaders in Liberia through girl forums where older adolescent girls are given peace-building and leadership training. These skills are then passed on to younger adolescent girls in their communities. The program also provides adolescent girls with livelihood skills training and internship opportunities. Liberia has one of the best role models for girl leaders – their President. In 2005, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf was elected as the President of Liberia, making her the first female head of state in Africa. And, in 2011, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf was awarded the Nobel Peace Prize, alongside fellow Liberian Leymah Gwobee, who mobilized and organized women to bring an end to the civil war, and to ensure that women were able to participate in elections.

India

Adolescent girls in India, like girls in many other parts of the world, are among the most vulnerable members of society.  Boys are often more valued that girls are because they carry on the family name and are able to help with hard labor, which is common in the rural regions of the country.   As a result, boys are often allowed to go to school and given a greater say in society, while girls are often married young and kept in the home doing household tasks.

In Rajasthan, one of the most populated states of India, adolescent girls face a number of challenges. In that region, Girl Up supports UNFPA’s Action for Adolescent Girls Initiative. The program helps girls develop leadership skills by offering job skills training and age-appropriate employment opportunities.