教育

并非所有女孩都有机会上学。 获得平等的受教育权是女孩的一项人权,也是促进她们在其他领域取得进步的一种途径。 全球共有 1.4 亿儿童无法上学,半数以上是女孩。

真实数据

  • 在许多国家和地区,超过半数的女孩还未上 6 年级便已辍学。
  • 女孩通常面临社会孤立,无法享受许多服务。 例如,同龄教育项目即使不在学校开展,也不太可能面向大部分时间在家度过的城市女孩。
  • 妨碍女孩接受教育的障碍有很多,包括学费、文具费和校服费,或者家和学校之间的距离过远。
  • 对于发展中国家的女孩而言,上学不仅是一个接受教育的机会,它还意味着避免长时间的工作,保持健康和安全,还有可能获得理想的工作。

Girl Up and the Global Girls Alliance

The Global Girls Alliance, a program of the Obama Foundation, seeks to empower adolescent girls around the world through education, allowing them to achieve their full potential and transform their families, communities, and countries. The Alliance engages people around the world to take action to help adolescent girls and the grassroots leaders working to educate them.

Girl Up 与联合国

Girl Up 与联合国携手合作,确保青春期女孩有权获得优质教育并完成学业(从幼儿园到高中)。 为女孩提供教育意味着:

  • 更健康 — 受过教育的女孩更有可能获得医疗保健服务、晚婚、少育。
  • 提高经济状况 — 受过教育的女孩收入更高,可以将 80-90% 的所得回馈给家庭和社区,帮助她们摆脱贫困。
  • 势必成为领袖 — 受过教育的女孩可以更多地参与社区活动,做出更明智的决策,对自己的能力更加自信。

为女孩提供教育可以为几代人带来积极影响,不仅能使妇女的健康状况有所改善,而且她们的子孙也将受益。


埃塞俄比亚

生活在埃塞俄比亚的难民家庭不允许工作,因为贫穷,女孩通常上不了学。 许多家庭都无法负担校服费和书本费。 他们首先需要满足食物和住宿需求,然后送男孩上学,最后才会考虑让女孩接受教育。 在 Girl Up 的帮助下,联合国正致力于确保生活在埃塞俄比亚的索马里难民女孩健康、安全并获得教育。 女孩们获得了教材、供夜间学习用的太阳能灯具,以及上学所需的助学金。 为了保证学习环境的安全与健康,此项目还在学校内修建了厕所,建立了水源。

危地马拉

在 Girl Up 提供项目支持的地区,女孩的平均受教育年限不足三年。 从未受过教育的女孩面临惨淡的未来,她们无法读书认字,更有可能早婚、早孕。 Girl Up 在危地马拉最偏远和最贫困的两个地区为联合国项目提供支持:托托尼卡潘和韦韦特南戈。 Girl Up 支持的一些项目包括:提供使用当地语言编写的教材,方便女孩学习,为被迫辍学的女孩提供重返校园的机会。

利比里亚

在经历了长达 14 年的内战之后,利比里亚的许多女孩都没有机会上学,或者直到十几岁才开始上学。 在 10 岁到 14 岁的女孩中,超过 40% 的女孩从未接受过正式教育。 Girl Up 为许多联合国项目提供支持,这些项目专注于动员家长、教师和家庭教师协会帮助女孩入学、为她们提供校服和教材,以及为失学女孩开展语文课和数学课。

马拉维

马拉维是世界上教育和贫穷问题最严重的地区之一。 由于无法负担学费、需要帮忙赚钱养家,以及面临早婚和早孕等复杂的问题,许多女孩被迫辍学。 Girl Up 与联合国携手,为女孩提供学习读写的机会。 Girl Up 还资助需要帮助的女孩,让她们能够支付学费和校服费。 女孩科学营为女孩们提供学习楷模并开展课程,旨在提高她们在科学、技术、工程和数学中的参与度。

印度

印度是世界上青少年人口最多的国家。  令人遗憾的是,这个国家的青春期女孩面临着许多挑战。  女孩通常不准上学,尤其是农村地区的女孩。  Girl Up 支持联合国人口基金会 (UNFPA) 在印度人口最多的地区之一拉贾斯坦邦开展的“青春期女孩行动”倡议。  此倡议的一个主要目标是为女孩和妇女提供生活和工作技能,以及向更多女孩提供教育,尤其是未上学的女孩。  此外,此项倡议还创建了一个青少年同龄教育人员网络,方便这些女孩为其他女孩提供帮助和教授知识。

Education

Not all girls have the chance to go to school. Equal access to education for girls is a human right, and it is also a means of achieving progress in other areas. Worldwide, 140 million children are not in school – more than half are girls.

The facts

  • In many countries, more than half of girls drop out before they reach the 6th grade.
  • Girls often face social isolation and lack access to many services. For example, peer education programs, even if not school-based, are unlikely to reach urban girls, who are largely confined to the home.
  • There are many barriers that prevent girls from getting an education, including school fees, the price of school supplies and mandatory uniforms, or long distances between home and school.
  • For girls in developing countries, going to school can be more than just an opportunity to be educated – it can mean avoiding long work hours, staying healthy and safe, and the possibility of getting a job that otherwise would not be possible.

Girl Up and the United Nations

Girl Up is working with the United Nations to make sure adolescent girls have access to quality education and complete schooling (from nursery school through high school). Providing a girl with an education means that:

  • She is healthier – an educated girl is more likely to seek healthcare, marry later and have fewer children.
  • She is economically powerful – an educated girl will be earn more money, reinvest 80-90 percent of her wages back into her family and community and help break the cycle of poverty.
  • She is poised to be a leader – an educated girl will be more involved in her community, more prepared for decision-making and more confident in her own abilities.

The positive impact of girls’ education has been shown to transcend generations, resulting in better health outcomes among women, their children and eventually their grandchildren.


Ethiopia

Refugee families living in Ethiopia are not allowed to work, resulting in poverty that often means girls are unable to go to school. Many families cannot afford the costs of school uniforms and books. They prioritize essential needs such as food and shelter, as well as sending boys to school, over girls’ education. With the help of Girl Up, the UN is working to make sure that Somali refugee girls in Ethiopia are healthy, safe and educated. Girls receive school materials, solar lamps to study at night, and scholarships to attend school. The program also builds toilets and creates access to water in schools in order to keep learning environments safe and healthy.

Guatemala

On average, girls living in regions where Girl Up supports programming have less than three years of schooling. Girls with no schooling face a bleak future; instead of learning to read and write, they are more likely to experience early marriage and childbearing. Girl Up supports UN programs in two of the most excluded and vulnerable regions of Guatemala– Totonicapán and Huehuetenango. Examples of supported programs include providing educational materials in local, indigenous languages to make learning easier and giving girls forced to drop out of school a second chance.

Liberia

Coming out of a 14-year long civil war, many girls in Liberia have not had the chance to go to school or have started school in their late teens. More than 40 percent of girls between the ages of 10 and 14 have never received a formal education. Girl Up supports UN programs that focus on mobilizing parents, teachers and PTAs to enroll girls in school, provides school uniforms and materials and also conducts literacy and numeracy classes for out-of-school girls.

Malawi

Malawi has one of the worst records in the world for education and a very high level of poverty. Many girls are forced to drop out because of their inability to afford school fees, the need to help earn an income and the complications that come with early marriage and early childbearing. Alongside the UN, Girl Up gives girls the opportunity to learn how to read and write. Girl Up also makes sure at-risk girls have funds to pay for school fees and uniforms. All-girls science camps provide role models and classes that increase girls’ participation in science, technology, engineering and math.

India

India has the largest population of adolescents in the world.  Unfortunately, adolescent girls in this country face many challenges.  Girls are often not allowed to go to school, especially in rural areas.  Girl Up supports UNFPA’s Action for Adolescent Girls Initiative in one of India’s most populated regions, Rajasthan.  One of the initiative’s main goals is to provide life skills and job skills for girls and women, as well as provide education to more girls, especially girls who are not enrolled in school.  In addition, the initiative creates a network of adolescent peer educators, so that girls can help reach and teach other girls.