倡议指南

只要你决心维护女孩的权利,你就是女孩权利的倡导者。 现在,是时候让你的决策者了解,世界各地的女孩都面临着什么问题以及他们可以提供哪些帮助。 遵循下面提供的步骤,直言发声,推动社会的积极变革。

1

了解你关心的问题

成为倡导者的第一步是,主动去了解你所关心的问题。 作为女孩权利的倡导者,你需要了解世界各地的青春期女孩面临着哪些挑战,比如童婚、性别暴力、缺乏受教育机会等,然后批判性地思考造成这些挑战的根本原因是什么。 虽然你不需要成为这些问题领域的专家,但你应该知道一些基本知识。

目前,Girl Up 首要的倡议目标是,扩大世界各地女孩(尤其是那些处于弱势条件的女孩)接受优质教育的机会。

>> 小提示: 充分利用各种资源,比如时事新闻、联合国或美国政府网站以及你的老师,加深对女孩所面临挑战的了解。

2

认识当选官员

如果你住在美国,只需前往 Congress.gov 网站,输入你所在地区的邮政编码,就可以知道当地的当选官员是哪些人。 然后,你可以访问他们各自的网站,进一步了解他们!

更多
3

明确请求

你应该向当选官员发出清晰明确的行动呼吁,也就是可以帮助你解决问题的切实方案。 它可以是各种各样的事情,比如为某个项目提供资金、支持某项立法,甚至在你所在的地区成立一个青少年咨询委员会。 值得高兴的是,Girl Up 已经帮你完成了这部分工作! 你可以前往我们的倡议页面找到最新的行动呼吁。

Girl Up 在吉吉加

目前,Girl Up 正致力于扩大世界各地女孩(尤其是那些处于弱势条件的女孩)获取优质教育的机会。

4

发起倡议

就在此时! 现在,是时候发出你的声音,表达你的想法了。 无论你采用哪种方式与当选官员及其工作人员建立联系,关键是要向他们展示你的热情,让他们知道你为何发声。 你可以向当选官员发推、发送私人邮件或信函、致电他们在当地的办公室甚至当面向他们呼吁,任何方式都可以。

你可以先了解有哪些倡议方式,阅读关于每种方式的详细说明。 然后,你需要有创意,在具体的行动中展现你的个人风格,这样才能成为出色的倡导者。

倡议方式

>> 小提示: 在“资源”版块中,我们提供了信函范文、电话脚本和会面指南,来帮助你开始自己的倡议之旅。 切记不要照搬我们建议的谈话要点,要适当调整,形成你自己的风格!

5

后续跟进

发起倡议之后的跟进与发起倡议本身一样重要。 你可以写一封感谢信,或者在推特上发一张你们见面的照片,这不仅仅是为了表达你的感激之情,同时也是一种策略。 你可以在感谢信里重申你们讨论过的问题和你的“请求”。 这还有助你与当选官员的办公室建立关系,方便你以后采取更多倡议行动。

>> 切记! 我们需要了解你做了哪些倡议工作。 向 Girl Up 报告你采取的倡议行动也是整个流程的重要一环! 利用 Girl Up Advocacy 应用,你可以快速填妥报告,我们也能轻松知道事情的具体进展。

Advocacy Toolkit

If you are committed to taking a stand for girls, then you are on your way to being an advocate. Now is the time to tell your policymakers about the issues facing girls around the world and how they can help. Follow these steps to raise your voice for positive change.

1

Know your issue

The first step to being an advocate is educating yourself on the issues that are important to you. As an advocate for girls, learn about the challenges that impact adolescent girls around the world—like child marriage, gender-based violence and lack of access to education—and think critically about the root causes of these challenges. You don’t have to be an expert on the issues, but you should understand the basics.

Right now, Girl Up’s advocacy priority is improving access to quality education for girls worldwide, especially those in vulnerable settings.

>> TIP: Deepen your understanding of the challenges girls face by utilizing resources like current news articles, the United Nations or U.S. government websites, and your teachers.

2

Know your elected officials

If you live in the U.S., go to Congress.gov and type in your zip code to find out who your elected officials are. Then visit their websites to learn more about them!

Read More
3

Identify your ask

You should have a clear call-to-action for your elected officials—a tangible solution to the challenge you are addressing. It could be a variety of things, like providing funding for a program, supporting a piece of legislation or even starting a youth advisory board in your local district. The good news is that Girl Up has already done the work for you! You can find our latest call-to-action on our advocacy page.

Girl Up in Jijiga

Currently, Girl Up is working to support access to quality education for girls worldwide, particularly those living in vulnerable settings.

4

Take your advocacy action

The moment is here! It’s time to raise your voice and make your pitch. No matter how you are reaching out to your elected officials and their staff, the key is to show them your passion and tell them why you care. Your action can be anything from a tweet to your representative, a personal email or letter, a call to their district office, or even an in-person meeting.

You can learn about the various ways to take an advocacy action and find detailed instructions for each type of action. To be a standout advocate, get creative and add your own personality to each action.

Ways to Advocate

>> TIP: In the resources section, we’ve got sample letters, call scripts and meeting agendas to get you started. Be sure to personalize our suggested talking points so it sounds like YOU!

5

Follow up

What you do after your advocacy action is just as important as the action itself. Sending a follow-up thank you note—or tweeting a picture from your meeting—isn’t just about showing your appreciation; it’s strategic as well. A thank you can reiterate the issues you discussed and your “ask.” It also helps build a relationship with the office, so that you can easily take more advocacy actions in the future.

>> DON’T FORGET! We need to know about your advocacy efforts. Reporting your advocacy action to Girl Up is an important part of the process! In the Girl Up Advocacy app, you can fill out a quick report and easily let us know how it went.