青年顾问

在 Girl Up,青年顾问主要负责领导“由女孩发起、为女孩服务”运动、执行倡议目标、就运动策略提供反馈以及激励他人为捍卫全球女孩的权利采取行动。

什么是 Girl Up 青年顾问?

通过开展青年顾问项目,Girl Up 真正践行了“由女孩发起、为女孩服务”的使命。 青年顾问由一大群来自不同背景的少女组成,她们是充满热情的变革者,共同开展和推动 Girl Up 的工作。 作为青年顾问,她们在 Girl Up 的所有决策中扮演着关键角色,包括倡议、筹款和传播战略。 为了帮助青年顾问完成任务,Girl Up 向她们提供了技能培训、职业发展机会、实践性学习,还帮助她们与工作人员的建立人际关系。

自从首届青年顾问完成 2010-2011 学年以来,这七届共 141 名青年顾问总共已筹集了近 500,000 美元资金,完成了 7,000 多个小时的服务,在世界各地的社群举办了数百场活动,执行了近 500 次倡议行动,包括区域会议以及向国会发出了不计其数的信访。

认识 2018-2019 届 Girl Up 青年顾问:

申请流程:

每年一月,Girl Up 都会面向准备好致力于改变世界的女性青年开启首轮申请。 Girl Up 从首轮申请人中挑选出符合条件的女孩,然后邀请她们完成第二轮的申请。 Girl Up 将审核这些申请并在四月中旬通知新一届的青年顾问。 青年顾问的任期从 6 月 1 日开始,为期一年。

时间表:

  • 1 月 16 日: 首轮申请开启。
  • 2 月 12 日: 首轮申请关闭。
  • 三月初: Girl Up 通知申请人首轮申请结果。 入选者将收到第二轮申请邀请。
  • 三月底:第二轮申请关闭。
  • 四月中旬: 选出青年顾问并通知她们最终结果。
  • 6 月 1 日: 新一届青年顾问任期开始。

申请要求:

**申请面向美国境内外具有自我认识的女孩开放。

  • 必须具备与美国 9-12 年级同等的教育水平
  • 成熟、具有文化开放心态,乐于学习不同文化
  • 致力于为女孩和妇女赋能
  • 具备极强的领导才能,真正希望通过参加社群和学校组织的有意义的讨论、学习和行动,成为一位具有全球意识的公民
  • 了解并热爱 Girl Up 为世界各地青春期女孩服务的使命与愿景
  • 能够完成青年顾问的下列所有职责

青年顾问的职责

  • 出席并积极参与和准备月度电话会议/网络研讨会(预定于每个月的第二个星期天召开)
  • 参加两场必须亲自出席的面对面会议,其中一场会议在华盛顿特区举行年度领袖峰会之前召开(七月中旬),另一场会议于次年一月或二月召开(对于美国申请者,通常为马丁·路德·金纪念日之后的首个周末)
  • 在所在学校或周边社区建立和/或领导 Girl Up 社团
  • 定期为 Girl Up 社团和高校团体的在线交流中心 Girl Up 线上社区提供支持
  • 在社群的媒体和活动中代表 Girl Up

青年顾问的机会

  • 有机会接触联合国发言人、机构和倡议负责人
  • 有机会获得经济资助,出席社会公益峰会和国际女童日等特别活动和会议,在这些场合发言和发表相关文章
  • 获得强化技能培训、职业发展机会和实践性学习
  • 通过与工作人员不断交流,深入了解 Girl Up,最重要的是,与她们建立人际关系
  • 在开展运动的工作中拥有决策权

申请

  • 青年顾问申请于美国东部时间 2 月 12 日星期一晚上 11:59 截至。 无一例外。
  • 点击此处申请

“如果要说我从担任 Girl Up 青年顾问中学到什么的话,那就是每个女孩都是强大的,她们团结起来将无人能挡。 在这个强大、充满智慧且雄心勃勃的女性社群中,我找到了归属感和姐妹情谊,每一天我都为她们所鼓舞,激励自己变得更加勇敢和强大,努力做一名更优秀的领袖。” — Amy Gong Liu,2014-2015 届

** Girl Up 力求建立和维护一个文化多元和包容的青年顾问团队。 我们特别鼓励在以下方面具有未被充分代表背景的女孩申请成为青年顾问:种族/民族、国籍、社会经济地位、性取向、性别认同、能力和宗教等。

Teen Advisors

At Girl Up, Teen Advisors are leading Girl Up’s “by girls, for girls” movement, carrying out advocacy goals, providing feedback on campaign strategy and energizing others to take action for girls around the world.

Who are Girl Up Teen Advisors?

The Teen Advisor program is where Girl Up truly lives out its “by girls, for girls” mission. Composed of a widely diverse group of teenage girls, Teen Advisors are passionate change-makers who together spread and fuel Girl Up’s work. As Teen Advisors, they are central to all Girl Up decision-making including advocacy, fundraising and communications strategy. To support the Teen Advisors in this task, Girl Up provides skills-based trainings, professional development opportunities, hands-on learning, and most significantly, personal relationships with the staff.

Throughout seven classes, 117 Teen Advisors have collectively raised nearly $500,000, completed more than 7,000 hours of service, hosted hundreds of events in their communities around the world and performed nearly 500 advocacy actions – including in-district meetings and countless letters and calls to congress.

Meet the 2017-2018 class of Girl Up Teen Advisors:

Application Process:

Every January, Girl Up opens the first round of applications to teen girls who are ready and excited to change the world. Girl Up selects girls from the first round and invites them to complete the full second round application. Girl Up reviews those applications and notifies the new class of Teen Advisors in mid-April. Teen Advisors serve for one year beginning June 1.

Timeline:

  • Mid-January: First Round Applications open.
  • Mid-February: First Round closes.
  • Early March: Applicants notified of Girl Up’s First Round decision. Those selected will receive Second Round application.
  • End of March: Second Round closes.
  • Mid-April: Teen Advisors selected and notified of final decision.
  • June 1: New class of Teen Advisors begin tenure.

Application Requirements:

**Applications are open to self-identified girls from the U.S and outside the U.S.

  • Must be entering the U.S. equivalent of 9th-12th grades
  • Display a sense of maturity, cultural-sensitivity, and openness to learning about different cultures
  • Be committed to the empowerment of girls and women
  • Possess strong leadership skills and have proven desire to become a globally-minded citizen through meaningful discussion, learning and action in their community and school
  • Have knowledge of and passion for Girl Up’s mission and vision for adolescent girls around the world
  • Be able to complete all Teen Advisor responsibilities as outlined below

Teen Advisor Responsibilities

  • Attend and actively participate in and prepare for monthly calls/webinars (scheduled for the second Sunday of every month)
  • Attend two mandatory in-person meetings — one preceding the annual Leadership Summit in Washington D.C. (mid-July), the other in the winter of the following year (usually MLK or President’s Day Weekend) in a TBD U.S. location
  • Start and/or lead a Girl Up Club in your school or surrounding community
  • Regularly contribute to the Girl Up Community, an online hub for Girl Up Clubs and Campuses
  • Represent Girl Up in the media and at events in their communities

Teen Advisor Opportunities

  • Access to United Nations speakers, agencies and initiatives
  • Access and financial support to attend speaking and blogging opportunities for special events and conferences like the Social Good Summit and International Day of the Girl
  • Intensive skills-based trainings, professional development opportunities, hands-on learning
  • An insider’s view into Girl Up through constant communication with staff, and most significantly, personal relationships
  • Decision-making power in the work of the campaign

“If I learned one thing serving as a Girl Up Teen Advisor, it’s that girls are powerful alone, but unstoppable together. I have found a family and sisterhood in this community of strong, intelligent, and ambitious women, and I am motivated every day by them to speak louder, stand taller, and lead better. ” – Amy Gong Liu, Class of 2014-2015

 

** Girl Up is committed to seeking and maintaining a culturally diverse and inclusive Teen Advisor class. Applicants who represent underrepresented backgrounds in regards to race/ethnicity, nationality, socio-economic status, sexual orientation, gender identity, ability, religion etc., are especially encouraged to apply.