影响渠道

影响渠道图示

与联合国合作

自 2010 年以来,Girl Up 已经与联合国合作,资助了各种项目,为女孩提供平等的受教育、健康、社会和经济机会,使她们不再生活在暴力之下。 鉴于 Girl Up 支持联合国为女孩提供全面服务的联合项目取得了成功,我们最近扩大了对联合国人口基金和联合国难民署的投入,支持他们正在进行的增强女孩权能的工作。

迄今为止,Girl Up 通过以下方式资助了 34,095 名女孩

为女孩提供全面支持的联合国联合项目

自 2010 年启动以来,Girl Up 已经投资于联合国在利比里亚、危地马拉、埃塞俄比亚和马拉维的联合项目。 这些综合项目重点关注教育、健康、安全、领导力和纳入人口统计。 它们结合了包括联合国儿童基金会、联合国妇女署、联合国教科文组织和世界卫生组织在内的多个联合国机构的力量,致力于为女孩解决尽可能多的障碍。

联合国难民署为教育难民女孩开展的工作

在埃塞俄比亚和乌干达,Girl Up 与联合国难民署合作,确保难民营中的女孩能够平等地获得从小学到中学的优质教育,重点确保她们能够获得教材、改善的学校设施、优质教师和综合学习机会(如女孩社团)。

联合国人口基金为防止童婚和青少年怀孕开展的工作

在印度和危地马拉,Girl Up 与联合国人口基金合作,防止童婚并为女孩提供改善生活和摆脱世代贫困所需的技能和资产。 让同龄教育工作者带领女孩社团,为女孩提供学习营养、资金管理和谈判权利的安全空间。

未来几年,随着我们影响力的增加,Girl Up 将致力于为实现可持续发展目标贡献绵薄之力。 具体而言,我们将与联合国合作,在 2030 年之前向目标 4 和 5 迈进。

全面支持

在研究如何为发展中国家的女孩带来最大影响时,我们确定了以下五个关键支持领域。

  • 教育:帮助女孩上学和留在学校
  • 健康:确保女孩获得健康和营养信息
  • 安全:预防和阻止一切性别暴力
  • 领导:确保女孩获得参加技能培训工作坊和领导的机会
  • 证明文件:通过获得有关女孩的出生记录和数据,确保将所有女孩都纳入人口统计

2010 年,联合国将这些领域确定为加速推进青春期女孩权利工作的五大主要优先事项。 支持和加强联合国的工作是 Girl Up 使命的核心,因此联合国全面支持女孩的优先事项也是我们的优先事项。

女孩倡导者

起初,Girl Up 只是一项为美国女孩发起的运动,但它很快就成为一项无国界运动,拥有近 50 万名来自美国和世界各地的支持者与倡导者。 我们独特的领导力培训和技能发展为当前和将来培养了一代女孩领袖,她们为联合国项目筹集了数百万美元资金、游说国会议员禁止童婚、确保女孩在出生时便登记注册,向她们的学校、朋友和社区证明了女孩的真正力量。

Girl Up 培养领袖的模式源于为女孩建立信心且专注于行动的转变体验。 我们为成员赋能,使她们真正能够产生切实的变化。 她们明白,她们的参与是有意义的,她们的力量是无比强大的。 影响渠道旨在:

  • 让女孩了解拓宽其世界观的新议题和新话题,帮助她们批判性地思考全球问题和理解联合国的影响。
  • 培养和支持年轻领袖,使她们能够动员同龄人、培养组织能力、有效沟通并为目标奋斗,特别是筹款、倡导、提升意识和提供服务方面的目标
  • 将同样充满热情的女孩聚在一起,让这一代人感受到只有 Girl Up 才能为她们带来的归属感。 事实上,92% 的女孩领袖因 Girl Up 而增加了她们的社会和政治参与度。

Our Approach

Our Approach graphic

Partnership with the UN

Since 2010, Girl Up has partnered with the United Nations to fund programs that give girls an equal chance for education, health, social and economic opportunities, and a life free from violence. Because of the demonstrated success of Girl Up-supported joint UN programs that offer comprehensive services for girls, we have more recently expanded our investments in UNFPA and UNHCR to support their ongoing work to empower girls.

To date, Girl Up has supported 34,095 girls through:

Joint UN Programs that comprehensively support girls

Girl Up has invested in joint UN programs in Liberia, Guatemala, Ethiopia and Malawi since our launch in 2010. These comprehensive programs focus on education, health, safety, leadership and being counted. They combine the efforts of multiple UN agencies including UNICEF, UN Women, UNESCO and WHO to work to address as many possible barriers for girls.

UNHCR’s efforts to educate refugee girls

In Ethiopia and Uganda, Girl Up partners with UNHCR to ensure girls in refugee camps have equal access to quality education from primary school through secondary school, focusing on access to materials, improved school facilities, quality teachers and integrated learning opportunities like girls clubs.

UNFPA’s efforts to prevent child marriage and teenage pregnancy

In India and Guatemala, Girl Up partners with UNFPA to prevent child marriage and provide girls with skills and assets needed to improve their lives and end their families cycle of poverty. Peer educators lead girls clubs, providing a safe space for girls to learn about nutrition, money management and negotiating for their rights.

As we increase our impact over the coming years, Girl Up is committed to doing our part to achieve the Sustainable Development Goals. Specifically, we will work in partnership with the UN to make progress towards Goals 4 and 5 by 2030.

Comprehensive Support

When looking at how we could make the greatest impact for girls in developing countries, we identified the following five areas as critical areas for support.

  • Education: help girls go to school and stay in school
  • Health: ensure access to health and nutrition information
  • Safety: prevent and protect from all gender-based violence
  • Leadership: ensure access to skills-building workshops and opportunities
  • Documentation: ensure all girls count by receiving birth documentation and data on girls

In 2010, the UN identified these as the five key priorities to accelerate efforts to advance the rights of adolescent girls. Supporting and strengthening the work of the UN is central to Girl Up’s mission, so their priorities for comprehensively supporting girls became our priorities.

Girls as Advocates

What began as a campaign for American girls, Girl Up has quickly become a borderless movement, with nearly half a million supporters and advocates from the U.S. and around the world. Our unique leadership training and skill development has created a generation of current and future girl leaders; leaders who have helped Girl Up raise millions of dollars for United Nations programs, lobbied members of Congress to stop child marriage and ensure that girls are registered at birth, and have showed their schools, friends and communities the true power of girls.

Girl Up’s model to create leaders is rooted in a transformative experience that builds girls’ confidence and is focused on action. Our members are empowered to generate real, tangible change. They understand that their involvement is meaningful and that their voices are powerful. Our methodology aims to:

  • Expose girls to new issues and topics that broaden their worldview, helping them think critically about global issues and understand the UN’s impact.
  • Train and support young leaders with the ability to mobile their peers, build organizational capacity, community effectively and work towards a goal—specifically fundraising, advocacy, awareness and service
  • Connect girls with similar passion, providing this generation with a sense of community that would not be available without Girl Up. In fact, 92% of our girl leaders experience an increase in their social and political participation thanks to Girl Up.