利比里亚

利比里亚的青春期女孩

利比里亚的青春期女孩与这一代的其他年轻人一样,在成长过程中未曾获得过基本的服务和机会。 由于长达 14 年的内战,许多女孩不曾接受教育,而现在,一般家庭往往无法负担所需的校服和学习用品费用。 此外,医疗保健系统也在冲突中遭到严重破坏,几乎没有供青春期女孩使用的健康诊所。 在一个仍处于恢复期的国家,安全始终是一个重要问题,在利比里亚,女孩面临着普遍存在的暴力侵害。

Girl Up 在利比里亚开展了哪些活动?

Girl Up 资助了一个由联合国机构(联合国儿童基金会、世界卫生组织、联合国人口基金以及联合国教育、科学和文化组织)开展的综合项目,通过以下方式为最贫困地区的青春期女孩提供帮助,确保她们能够赚取收入、保持健康,避免受到传统陋习的伤害:

  • 为将来做好准备

    • 该计划培养女孩教育的支持者,通过与家长和教师合作组建本地家长/教师委员会,提高女孩的到校率、入学率和在校率。 为失学女孩提供培训,教她们如何经营自己的事业,提高她们的收入能力。
  • 提供对女孩有益的健康服务

    • 为了增加敏感生殖健康信息的获取途径,将年龄较大的青春期女孩培训为性健康教育者,为更年幼的女孩们服务。 此外,学校和诊所还提供安全空间,让女孩们可以放心自在地询问与健康有关的问题。
  • 减少有害的传统习俗

    • 该计划建立社团作为社区对话场所,讨论有关暴力侵害妇女和切割女性生殖器官的棘手话题。 同时,计划的组织者让本地领袖参与讨论有关切割女性生殖器官的不良影响,并鼓励她们倡导消除这些做法。

利比里亚简介

利比里亚共和国位于西非海岸,是一个人口仅为 390 万的小国。 利比里亚的历史是独一无二的。它由获得自由的美国黑奴在 19 世纪早中期建立和殖民。 英语是其官方语言,但只有 20% 的人讲英语,其余人则使用 20 种不同的种族语言。

利比里亚仍然是当今世界最贫穷的国家之一。 一场内战洗劫了整个国家 14 年之久,不仅损害了经济,更使人民的医疗、教育和保护服务受创。 2005 年,埃伦·约翰逊·瑟利夫当选为利比里亚总统,成为非洲首位民选国家女总统,由此改写了历史。 2011 年,约翰逊·瑟利夫连任第二个六年任期,她一直致力于减少腐败,推动利比里亚的经济发展。

Liberia

Adolescent Girls in Liberia

Adolescent girls in Liberia are part of a generation of young people who grew up without access to basic services and opportunities. Because of a 14-year civil war, many girls did not get an education, and now families often cannot afford the required uniforms and school supplies. The health care system was also severely damaged in the conflict and there are almost no health clinics for adolescent girls. In a country that is still recovering, safety is always an important issue and in Liberia, girls face widespread violence.

What is Girl Up doing in Liberia?

Girl Up funds a comprehensive program run by United Nations agencies- UNICEF, WHO, UNFPA and UNESCO- that works with the hardest-to-reach adolescent girls to ensure that they are able to earn an income, stay healthy and avoid harmful traditional practices, by:

  • Providing tools for the future

    • The program cultivates champions for girls’ education who will increase school attendance for girls and improve enrollment and retention by working with parents and teachers to form local PTA groups. Out-of-school girls receive training on how to run their own businesses and increase their earning potential.
  • Offering girl-friendly health services

    • To increase access to sensitive reproductive health information, older adolescent girls are trained to act as sexual health educators for their younger peers. In addition, schools and clinics are creating safe spaces where girls can feel comfortable asking health-related questions.
  • Reducing harmful traditional practices

    • The program builds clubs to serve as venues for community dialogues on the tough topics of violence against women and female genital mutilation. At the same time, program organizers engage local leaders in conversations about the negative effects of female genital mutilation and encourage them to advocate for elimination of this practice.

About Liberia

The Republic of Liberia is a small country of 3.9 million people located on the coast of West Africa. Liberia’s history is unique-it was founded and colonized by freed American slaves in the early-to mid-1800s. English is the official language, but only 20% of the population speaks English while the rest use some 20 different ethnic group languages.

Liberia remains one of the poorest countries in the world. A civil war ravaged the country for 14 years, damaging not only the economy, but also healthcare, education and protection services for its people. In 2005, Ellen Johnson Sirleaf made history as Africa’s first elected female head of state when she was sworn in as Liberia’s president. Reelected to a second six-year term in 2011, Johnson Sirleaf is working to reduce corruption and advance Liberia’s economy.