埃塞俄比亚

埃塞俄比亚的青春期女孩

埃塞俄比亚的女孩面临着缺乏教育机会、健康风险等各种挑战,其中包括高孕产妇死亡率和艾滋病毒感染率。 在农村地区,女孩每天都要花费几个小时取水和做家务,几乎没有时间上学。 难民女孩是埃塞俄比亚和全世界最边缘化的群体之一。

Girl Up 在埃塞俄比亚开展了哪些活动?

目前,Girl Up 通过资助联合国项目向埃塞俄比亚的青春期女孩提供支持,这些项目为流离失所的索马里难民女孩提供全面的一揽子服务。 在埃塞俄比亚,联合国项目通过联合国难民署 (UNHCR) 开展。 项目通过以下方式为女孩赋能:

  • 提供教育支持

    • 青春期女孩可以收到上学所需的书包和校服。 由于女孩白天必须做家务,因此该项目还为女孩发放提灯,方便她们在晚上学习。 为成绩优异的女孩提供奖学金,让她们可以进入职业学校或大学学习。
  • 打造安全的学校

    • 为了确保青春期女孩在学校感到舒适,该项目为女孩修建了专用卫生间,还为中等职业学校年龄较大的女孩建造了女生宿舍。 此外,教师还接受了培训,了解在课堂内创造无骚扰的安全空间的重要性。
  • 改善家庭经济状况

    • 因贫穷而无法送女儿上学的家庭接受了商业培训,在培训结束后获得了小额贷款。 随着收入的增加,这些家庭有能力让他们的女儿接受教育。

埃塞俄比亚简介

埃塞俄比亚是位于非洲之角的一个广袤多样的东非国家,面积大约为美国德克萨斯州的两倍。 该国是非洲人口第二多的国家,拥有世界上最古老的一些人类生活遗址。 该国广泛使用的官方语言为阿姆哈拉语,但是 80 多个民族使用的语言各不相同。 埃塞俄比亚人为他们的独立古代遗产而自豪,这些遗产至少可以追溯到 2000 年前。

Ethiopia

Adolescent Girls in Ethiopia

Girls in Ethiopia face challenges such as lack of access to education and health risks including high rates of maternal death and HIV infection. In rural areas, girls spend hours fetching water each day as well as completing other household tasks, leaving little to no time for school. Refugee adolescent girls are some of the most marginalized girls in Ethiopia and in the world.

What is Girl Up doing in Ethiopia?

Girl Up currently supports adolescent girls in Ethiopia by funding United Nations programs that deliver a comprehensive package of services to displaced Somali refugee girls. In Ethiopia, UN programs are delivered through the UN Refugee Agency (UNHCR). The program is empowering girls by:

  • Providing educational support

    • Adolescent girls receive required backpacks and uniforms so they can attend school. Since girls must do household chores during the day, the program also supplies lanterns so girls can study after the sun goes down. High-achieving young women are offered scholarships to trade schools or universities.
  • Creating safe schools

    • In order to ensure that adolescent girls feel comfortable at school, the program has built girl-only washrooms and has constructed female dormitories for the older girls attending post-secondary vocational schools. In addition, teachers undergo trainings on the importance of creating safe spaces in the classroom that are free of harassment.
  • Improving family economics

    • Families too poor to send their daughters to school are offered trainings in business development and provided microloans after the training is completed. With an increased income, these families can afford to educate their daughters.

About Ethiopia

Ethiopia is a vast and diverse East African country located in the Horn of Africa that is roughly twice the size of Texas. The country has the second largest population in Africa and is home to some of the oldest sites of human life in the world. Amharic is the official language and widely spoken, yet there are more than 80 additional ethnic groups with distinct languages. Ethiopians are proud of their independent, ancient heritage that can be traced back at least 2,000 years.