安全与暴力

世界各地普遍存在针对女性的暴力行为,包括性暴力和性别暴力。 每天都有女性成为暴力的受害者。 针对女性的暴力行为可能发生在她们生活中的不同时刻,并且有许多不同的方式。 在一些国家,针对女性的暴力行为十分普遍。 仅仅是在往返学校或去取水的途中,女孩都有可能置身于危险之中。

真实数据

  • 暴力是导致 15-19 岁女孩死亡的主要原因之一,占 14%
  • 自我伤害也是一个严重的问题,自杀现已成为 15-19 岁女孩的头号死因
  • 暴力对男孩和女孩的影响是不同的:研究发现,男孩面临更大的杀人和帮派暴力风险,而女孩则受到性暴力和性别暴力 (SGBV) 的严重影响
  • 全球四分之一(即 7000 万)的女孩表示,在 15 岁之前,她们便已是身体暴力的受害者

Girl Up 与联合国

Girl Up 与联合国携手合作,确保青春期女孩的安全,让她们远离暴力伤害。 由 Girl Up 支持的联合国项目致力于防止和保护女孩免遭一切形式的性别暴力、性虐待和性剥削,确保遭受暴力的女孩获得及时的保护和服务且有权诉诸司法。

其中一种解决方法就是提供更多的木柴、水和厕所,这样女孩就不必离家很远。 为女孩提供一个安全的空间,让她有机会与其他女孩和导师在一起,还能减轻她对成为暴力受害者的担忧。

危地马拉

在经历了三十年的内战之后,危地马拉正竭力改善暴力问题,但该国仍然面临普遍贫穷的问题,使女孩和妇女受到影响。 危地马拉的青春期女孩,特别是生活在农村地区的原住民女孩,面临着极高的暴力发生率。 在报道的所有暴力侵害女性案件中,有近一半是年龄在 13 岁至 27 岁之间的女孩和年轻女性,每天大约有两名女性在危地马拉遇害。 Girl Up 支持联合国的各种项目,这些项目将负责保护青春期女孩的政府机构联合起来,提高社区对性别暴力的认识,教导社区领袖在发生暴力事件时如何应对。 此外,Girl Up 还为教育机构提供支持,这些机构教导青春期女孩了解她们的权利,为女孩提供可以拥有安全公共空间的社团,供她们与导师见面和参加技能培训活动。

马拉维

在马拉维,Girl Up 正在与联合国合作伙伴合作,通过支持反童婚运动,教育和动员女孩、男孩和家庭废除童婚陋习,使青春期女孩免遭性暴力和性别暴力的伤害。 Girl Up 还帮助增强女孩权能,让她们自己做出影响她们生活的决定。 Girl Up 支持发起一场“对性别暴力说不”的运动,向青春期女孩宣传她们的权利和性别暴力的危害。 此外,在 Girl Up 的支持下,联合国正在努力建立案例管理计划和专项服务组织(如校内儿童保护委员会),为遭受暴力的女孩提供支持。

埃塞俄比亚

Girl Up 支持联合国难民署的工作,以解决索马里难民女孩在埃塞俄比亚生活所面临的一些挑战,这些女孩因人道主义危机而流离失所。 该项目为女孩提供太阳能灯,供她们在晚上学习使用。 这种方式十分环保,可以降低女孩为满足家庭能源需求而需要拾取柴火时可能面临的暴力风险。 该项目还与难民营的学校和教师合作,改善教师在课堂上对性别问题的理解,在学校制定反骚扰和反欺凌政策,为女孩营造安全的环境。

利比里亚

由于利比里亚曾经历内战,女性更容易成为普遍性暴力和性别暴力的受害者。 Girl Up 支持联合国的工作,通过在社区青年中心为受到性暴力或性别暴力影响的女孩提供心理社会支持,减少有害传统习俗和暴力侵害女孩的发生率。 基金还帮助就女孩的教育、健康和文化习俗建立社区对话。

印度

无论是在公共场所还是在家中,暴力都是印度女性面临的最大挑战之一。  Girl Up 支持联合国人口基金 (UNFPA) 的“青春期女孩行动”(AAG) 倡议,此倡议在印度人口最多的地区之一拉贾斯坦邦开展,旨在解决性别暴力问题。 报告显示,拉贾斯坦邦 49% 的女性遭受过某种类型的性暴力或身体暴力,每 5 名强暴幸存者中就有 1 人年龄小于 18 岁。  青春期女孩行动倡议正与当地组织建立伙伴关系,旨在为青春期女孩提供安全的空间,促进她们的安全并让她们了解自己的基本人权。

Safety & Violence

Violence against girls and women, including sexual and gender-based violence, is prevalent around the world. Every day, a girl or a woman is a victim of violence. Violence against girls can happen at different moments in their lives and in a number of different ways. In some countries, violence against girls and women is common. Just walking back and forth to school or going to get water can put girls at risk.

The Facts

  • 14% of girls’ deaths aged 15-19 are attributed to violence
  • Self-harm is also a serious issue – suicide is now the #1 cause of death among girls aged 15-19
  • Violence affects boys and girls differently – studies have found boys to be at greater risk of homicides and gang related violence while girls are disproportionately affected by sexual and gender-based violence (SGBV)
  • ¼ of girls worldwide (70 million) said they were the victims of physical violence by the age of 15

Girl Up and the United Nations

Girl Up is working with the United Nations to make sure adolescent girls are safe and free from violence. UN programs that are supported by Girl Up work to prevent and protect girls from all forms of gender-based violence, abuse, exploitation and to ensure that girls who experience violence receive prompt protection, services and access to justice.

One solution is to provide increased access to firewood, water and toilets so that girls do not have to travel far from their home. Providing a girl with a safe space gives her the chance to be with other girls and mentors, and lessens her worry about becoming a victim of violence.

Guatemala

Guatemala is working to make progress after three decades of violence but the country is still experiencing widespread poverty that affects girls and women. Adolescent girls in Guatemala, especially indigenous girls living in rural areas, face high rates of violence. Close to half of all reported cases of violence against women are among girls and young women between the ages of 13 and 27, and approximately two girls or women are murdered every day in Guatemala. Girl Up is supporting UN programs that bring together government institutions responsible for the protection of adolescent girls as well as programs that raise awareness in communities about gender-based violence and teach community leaders how to respond when violence occurs. In addition, Girl Up supports educational institutions that teach adolescent girls about their rights, provide girls with clubs where they can have a safe, public space to meet with mentors and participate in skill-building activities.

Malawi

In Malawi, Girl Up is working with UN partners to keep adolescent girls free from sexual and gender-based violence by supporting a campaign against child marriage that will educate and mobilize girls, boys and families to end the practice of child marriage. Girl Up also helps to empower girls to speak out for themselves about decisions that impact their lives. Girl Up supports the launch of a Say NO to Gender-based Violence campaign that will teach adolescents about girls’ rights and the harm of gender-based violence. Furthermore, with Girl Up’s support, the UN is working to establish case management plans and service delivery structures, such as school-based child protection committees, to support girls who have experienced violence.

Ethiopia

Girl Up supports UNHCR’s work to address some of the challenges that Somali refugee girls face living in Ethiopia who have been displaced by the humanitarian crises. The program provides solar lamps for girls to study in the evening. This is an environment-friendly way to reduce the risk of violence that girls may otherwise face if they had to gather firewood for their family’s energy needs. The program also works with schools and teachers in the refugee camps to improve teachers’ understanding of gender issues in the classroom,  establish anti-harassment and anti-bullying policies in the schools, and provide girls with a safe environment.

Liberia

Because Liberia experienced a civil war, girls and women are more vulnerable to being a victim of widespread sexual and gender-based violence. Girl Up supports the UN’s efforts to reduce the prevalence of harmful traditional practices and violence against girls by providing psycho-social support in community youth centers for girls affected by sexual or gender-based violence. Funds also help to establish community dialogue on girls’ education, health and cultural practices.

India

One of the largest challenges facing girls and women in India is violence, both in public and inside the home.  Girl Up supports UNFPA’s Action for Adolescent Girls (AAG) Initiative in one of India’s most populated regions, Rajasthan, which addresses the issue of gender-based violence. Reports show that 49% of women in Rajasthan have experienced some type of sexual or physical violence, and one out of every five survivors of rape is younger than 18 years old.  The AAG initiative is building partnerships with local organizations to provide safe spaces for adolescent girls to promote their safety and teach them about their basic human rights.