健康

在世界上的许多地方,青春期女孩从未获得过健康信息或服务。 女孩通常无法负担医药费,或者需要长途跋涉才能到达诊所看病。

真实数据

  • 目前,世界上超过 7 亿女性在 18 岁之前结婚。 超过三分之一的女性在 15 岁之前结婚,也就是 2.5 亿人。
  • 在撒哈拉以南非洲地区,15-24 岁的女孩和年轻女性感染艾滋病病毒的可能性是年轻男性的两倍,但在同一地区,只有 28% 的女孩和年轻女性了解如何保护自己不受艾滋病病毒感染。
  • 孕产妇死亡是 15-19 岁女孩的第二大死因。 每年,大约 1400 万 15 至 19 岁的女孩分娩。
  • 与男孩相比,女孩需长途跋涉获取饮用水的可能性要高出两倍。 世界各地的女孩和妇女每天大约需要花费 2 亿小时来取水。

Girl Up 与联合国

Girl Up 与联合国合作,通过确保青春期女孩获得专门的健康信息和服务,改善她们的健康状况。 这包括营养教育、艾滋病预防以及性健康和生殖健康方面的信息。 适当的营养和清洁水对确保青春期女孩保持健康并了解自己的身体需求非常重要。 定期体检和了解健康信息会对女孩的生活产生巨大影响,甚至会影响其子女的健康。 获取健康信息有助于女孩茁壮成长。

危地马拉

Girl Up 将支持扩大经证明有效的联合国项目,为危地马拉农村地区的女孩提供健康信息和服务。 20-24岁危地马拉的年轻女孩有近一半在20岁之前就做了母亲,很多人到了30岁的时候,就已经生育了7、8个孩子——这一点尤为重要。 健康信息不仅可以帮助妇女和女孩,还可以帮助她们的子女。 此项目包括培养青春期女孩领袖成为同龄健康教育工作者,让她们有能力教导他人关于健康和营养,以及预防家庭暴力、青少年怀孕、艾滋病病毒和性传播疾病的知识。 此外,该项目还将为医护人员提供关于如何为青春期女孩提供文化相关和综合保健的培训。

马拉维

马拉维是世界上艾滋病病毒感染率最高的国家之一,女孩感染艾滋病病毒的可能性是男孩的四倍。 此外,在马拉维,女孩面临极高的童婚和青少年怀孕率。 Girl Up 支持联合国在马拉维的工作,增加青春期女孩获得健康信息和服务的权利,包括性健康和生殖健康以及艾滋病预防。 在马拉维,只有不到四分之一的女孩完成小学教育,这意味着,在学校提供健康信息只能覆盖一小部分青春期女孩。 因此,联合国的健康教育项目通过生活技能教育中心和青少年健康诊所进行。

埃塞俄比亚

在埃塞俄比亚,几乎一半的女孩在 15 岁之前结婚,Girl Up 通过 Berhane Hewan 项目,帮助阿姆哈拉地区的 11,000 多名女孩推迟童婚并促进她们接受教育。 参加此项目的女孩在 18 岁之前结婚的可能性得以降低,她们更有可能留在学校,接受性健康和生殖健康方面的教育。 Girl Up 通过支持联合国难民署为生活在埃塞俄比亚东部难民营的索马里难民女孩开展的一个项目,扩大了对埃塞俄比亚一些最边缘化女孩的支持。 为了保证学习环境的安全与健康,联合国难民署还为女孩们修建了专厕,建立了水源。 在 Girl Up 的支持下,联合国难民署在难民营修建康乐设施和分发运动设备,确保难民营中的女孩有机会保持健康活力。

利比里亚

利比里亚是世界上最贫穷和最不发达的国家之一,14 年的内战摧毁了医疗系统等重要基础设施。 尽管该国正在重建,但青少年卫生服务仍然缺乏,这对青春期女孩产生了严重影响。 2008 年,15-19 岁青春期女孩的生育率高达世界第二。 Girl Up 与联合国及当地合作伙伴合作,改善青春期女孩的医疗卫生服务,培训保健人员和同龄教育人员关于生殖健康、艾滋病预防和孕产妇死亡率的知识,以及为她们提供心理支持和咨询服务。 联合国还将与美国卫生部共同制定青春期生殖健康国家战略,为卫生专业人员制定培训课程标准。

印度

作为世界人口大国之一,印度一直在竭力摆脱基础设施匮乏的困境,特别是在农村地区。 印度所面临的挑战包括:卫生条件差、卫生用品和诊所短缺,以及公众缺乏对健康问题的认识,尤其是性健康和生殖健康。  青春期女孩受到的影响特别大。 由于女孩往往缺乏有关孕产妇保健、青春期和其他重要问题的信息,许多女孩会遇到早孕、性传播疾病以及身心伤害等问题。 Girl Up 支持联合国人口基金会 (UNFPA) 在印度人口最多的地区之一拉贾斯坦邦开展的“青春期女孩行动”倡议。 此倡议致力于通过向 15-19 岁的已婚青春期女孩提供孕产妇保健服务和信息,促进提高该地区女孩的健康水平。  其中一个目标是帮助推迟女孩的分娩年龄,直到她们的身体准备好。

Health

In many places around the world, adolescent girls never receive health information or services. Often, girls cannot afford to see a doctor or need to travel long distances to reach a clinic for care.

The facts

  • Worldwide, more than 700 million women alive today were married before their 18th birthday. More than 1 in 3 – or some 250 million – women alive today were married before the age of 15.
  • Girls and young women 15–24 years old in sub-Saharan Africa are twice as likely as young men to be living with HIV, and yet in the same region, only 28% of girls and young women have knowledge about how to protect themselves from HIV.
  • Maternal mortality is the second leading cause of death of girls aged 15-19. Nearly 14 million adolescent girls aged 15 to 19 give birth each year.
  • Girls are more than twice as likely as boys to travel far distances to fetch drinking water. Globally, girls and women spend an estimated 200 million hours every single day collecting water.

Girl Up and the United Nations

Girl Up works with United Nations to improve adolescent girls’ health by ensuring that they have access health information and services that are designed for them. This includes education on nutrition, HIV prevention, and information on sexual and reproductive health. Proper nutrition and clean water are important to make sure that adolescent girls stay healthy and are aware of what their bodies need. Regular check-ups and health information can have a huge impact on a girl’s life, and can even affect the well-being of her children. Access to health information helps girls thrive.

Guatemala

Girl Up is supporting the expansion of proven, impactful UN programs that provide access to health information and services to rural, indigenous adolescent girls in Guatemala. This is particularly important given that nearly half of 20-24 year old young women in Guatemala are mothers by the age of 20, and by their early 30’s, many women have given birth to seven or eight children. Health information not only helps women and girls, but also helps their children. The program includes training adolescent girl leaders to be peer health educators so that they can teach others about health and nutrition, and about the prevention of domestic violence, teen pregnancy, HIV and sexually transmitted diseases. In addition, the program will provide training for healthcare workers on how to supply culturally relevant and comprehensive health care to adolescent girls.

Malawi

Malawi has one of the highest HIV prevalence rates in the world, and girls are four times more likely to be HIV positive than boys. In addition, girls face high rates of child marriage and teen pregnancy in Malawi. Girl Up is supporting the UN’s work in Malawi to improve adolescent girls’ access to health information and services, including sexual and reproductive health and HIV prevention. In Malawi, less than a quarter of girls finish elementary schools, which means that providing health information at schools only reaches a small percentage of adolescent girls. Therefore, UN health education programs are facilitated through life skills education centers and at youth-friendly health clinics. 

Ethiopia

In Ethiopia, a country where almost half of all girls are married by the age of 15, Girl Up helped delay child marriage and promote girls’ education for more than 11,000 girls in the Amhara region through the Berhane Hewan program. Girls participating in this program are less likely to be married before they are 18, and are more likely to stay in school and be educated on sexual and reproductive health. Girl Up has expanded support to some of the most marginalized girls in Ethiopia by supporting a UNHCR program for Somali refugee girls who are living in refugee camps in eastern Ethiopia. UNHCR is providing girls with private toilets and access to water in order to keep their learning environment safe and healthy. With Girl Up’s support, UNHCR is making sure that girls in the refugee camps have the chance to stay active and healthy, by creating recreational facilities and distributing sports equipment in the camps. 

Liberia

Liberia is one of the poorest and least developed countries in the world, and the 14-year civil war destroyed important infrastructures such as the healthcare system. Although the country is rebuilding, adolescent health services are still lacking and have had a devastating impact on adolescent girls. In 2008, the adolescent birth rate for girls ages 15-19 was the second highest in the world. Girl Up works with the UN and local partners to improve health services for adolescent girls, and to  train health workers and peer-educators on reproductive health, HIV prevention, maternal mortality, as well as provide psychosocial support and counseling. The UN is also working with the Ministry of Health to develop a national strategy on adolescent reproductive health, and is standardizing training curricula for health professionals.

India

As one of the most populated countries in the world, India has struggled with a lack of infrastructure, especially in its rural regions. Some challenges include poor sanitation, a shortage of health supplies and clinics, and a lack of awareness on health issues, especially sexual and reproductive health.  Adolescent girls are particularly affected. Because girls often lack information related to maternal health, puberty, and other important issues, many experience early pregnancies, sexually transmitted disease, and psychological and physical harm. Girl Up supports UNFPA’s Action for Adolescent Girls Initiative in one of India’s most populated regions, Rajasthan. The initiative is working to promote better health standards for girls living in the region by providing services and information on maternal health to married adolescent girls who are 15-19 years old.  One goal is to help girls delay giving birth until their bodies are ready.