被纳入人口统计

全世界大约每 12 个人中就有一个人是 10-24 岁的女孩或年轻女性。 女孩和年轻女性是发展中国家人口中增长最快的群体之一,她们的健康和福利是创造及维持强劲经济和健康社区的基础。 然而,由于缺乏有关妇女和女孩的官方数据,因此难以准确地评估受教育权和贫困线,以及开展整体人口普查活动。 缺乏此类基本信息,我们也难以评估对外援助和国内社会福利计划的需求。

因为缺乏统计女孩人数的政治意愿和能力,大部分发展中国家都未将女孩的人数计入人口总数,不向她们颁发出生证及其他形式的官方身份证明。 这意味着,在女孩成长的道路上,上学和就业于她而言即便可能,也很难实现。 她将无法拥有自己的土地,也不能创立自己的事业。 而且她没有投票的权利。 她很有可能只能呆在家里,做着没有薪水的工作,成为社会中的“隐形人”。

数据解读

  • 尽管大多数国家和地区都具备出生登记法律,但每年有 5100 万五岁以下的儿童均未在出生时进行登记。
  • 出生登记对人们和整个社会而言都至关重要:于人们,它能够带来经认证的法律地位;于社会,它可以提供优质的重要生命事件统计数据。
  • 经国家认可的出生证明是决定儿童国籍、出生地、出身和年龄的关键,没有出生证明,儿童将无法获得护照或国家身份证。

你能做什么

不统计女孩人数还意味着美国政府未完全兑现在美国外交政策中优先考虑妇女和女孩的承诺。 2013 年,Girl Up 启动了一项计划,旨在让决策者了解统计女孩人数的重要性,提倡实施以下政策:

  • 确保女孩被纳入人口统计。 美国应致力于支持和推动各种项目,帮助发展中国家建立和扩大其国家登记和识别系统,包括出生证和国民身份证系统。 这样做可以使决策者更重视女孩,了解她们在哪些方面遭到忽视。
  • 确保对女孩项目的投资。 美国应支持关注青春期女孩的项目的战略投资,促进社会的成功发展。
  • 确保女孩获得平等的权利。 美国应鼓励消除对女孩的歧视并增加她们的财产权,确保青春期女孩能够平等地享受教育权等基本权利。

制定一项解决方案,确保世界各地的更多女孩,无论出生在何地,都能像其他人一样被纳入人口统计:即《纳入女孩法》。

支持《纳入女孩法》

Being Counted

Approximately one person in 12 around the world is a girl or young woman aged 10–24. Girls and young women are one of the fastest growing segments of the population in developing countries, and their health and welfare is fundamental to creating and maintaining strong economies and healthy communities. And yet, accurate assessments of access to education, poverty levels and overall census activities, are hampered by the lack of official data on women and girls. Without this basic information, it is difficult to assess the need for foreign assistance and domestic social welfare programs.

Most developing countries do not account for the number of girls in their population due to a lack of political will or the ability to count these girls – to issue birth certificates and other forms of official identification. This means that as a girl grows up it will be difficult, if not impossible, for her to attend school or get a job. She will not be able to own her own land or start her own business. She will not be able to vote. She will likely be confined to her home and left unpaid – an invisible member of society.

By the numbers

  • Even though most countries do have birth registration laws, every year 51 million children, under the age of five, are not registered at birth.
  • Birth registrations are crucial for people and societies; people benefit from the legal status of certification and societies benefit from the availability of quality statistics on vital life events.
  • A nationally recognized proof of birth is the key to determining a child’s nationality, place of birth, parentage and age – without which a passport or national ID card are impossible to obtain.

What you can do

Not counting girls also means that the commitment of the U.S. government to prioritize women and girls in U.S. foreign policy is not being fully realized. In 2013, Girl Up launched an effort to educate policymakers on the importance of counting girls and advocate for policies that:

  • Ensure girls are counted. The U.S. should commit to supporting and promoting programs that help developing countries establish and expand their national registration and identification systems, including birth certificates and national identity cards. Doing so will make girls more visible to policymakers and reveal where girls are excluded.
  • Ensure investments in girl programs. The U.S. should support strategic investments in programs that focus on adolescent girls as contributors to successful societies.
  • Ensure girls are given equal access. The U.S. should encourage ending discrimination against girls and increasing property rights to ensure that adolescent girls benefit equitably from basic rights such as access to education.

There’s a solution to make sure more girls around the world – regardless of where they’re born – are counted just like everyone else: the Girls Count Act.

Support the Girls Count Act